Various Artists: Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969 - Volume 1
Various Artists: Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969 - Volume 1

Various Artists: Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969 - Volume 1

Unit price per
Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

A 50th anniversary celebration collecting 24 previously unheard songs by such blues legends as Howlin’ Wolf, Muddy Waters, B.B. King, James Cotton, Son House, Magic Sam, T-Bone Walker, Junior Wells, Big Mama Thornton, Clifton Chenier, Son House, Mississippi Fred McDowell, Lightnin’ Hopkins, Pinetop Perkins, J. B. Hutto & His Hawks, Roosevelt Sykes, Luther Allison, Otis Rush, Big Joe Williams, Charlie Musselwhite and more. The first ever release of music recorded live at the landmark event, ANN ARBOR BLUES FESTIVAL 1969 is available in two individual 2x LP volumes, exclusively on 130 gram vinyl.

The historic gathering was presented by a small group of blues-obsessed University of Michigan students determined to give their blues heroes a public spotlight where they might shine before it was too late. Among those enterprising student-promoters was John Fishel, whose teenage brother Jim Fishel, gathered some friends to help record the festival as a personal memento. Taking advantage of their all-access pass and juggling a small Norelco tape recorder from set to set, the friends let the 1⁄4” tape roll. Though field recordings in the literal sense of the term, they capture the brilliance of the musicians, the excitement of the crowd and the loose, convivial nature of the entire festival. Those tapes, long thought to be lost, have now been lovingly restored to capture the electric energy of the landmark concert. Includes never-before-seen photographs, artist biographies, an exclusive reminiscence from Jim Fishel, and extensive liner notes by Parker Fishel, Sophie Abramowitz and David Beal.


1 Dirty Mother for You – Roosevelt Sykes
2 So Glad You’re Mine – Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup
3 Too Much Alcohol – J.B. Hutto & His Hawks
4 I Wonder Why – Jimmy “Fast Fingers” Dawkins
5 Help Me (A Tribute to Sonny Boy Williamson) – Junior Wells
6 I’ve Got a Mind to Give Up Living – B.B. King with Sonny Freeman and the Unusuals
7 John Henry – Mississippi Fred McDowell
8 Pinetop’s Boogie Woogie – Pinetop Perkins
9 Introduction – Big Bill Hill
10 Everybody Must Suffer/Stone Crazy – Luther Allison and the Blue Nebulae
11 Tu m’as promis l’amour (You Promised Me Love) – Clifton Chenier
12 Hard Luck – The Original Howlin’ Wolf and His Orchestra
13 So Many Roads, So Many Trains – Otis Rush